Happy New Year, everybody!

We had such a nice New Year’s Eve: we saw in the new year at a little drinks party hosted by my sister, Vickie, and her partner, Andrew. They invited us, my sister, Pip and her husband, Alister, our parents, Tristan’s parents, Andrew’s parents, and a small handful of friends, and we spent a few festive hours eating nibbles and drinking delicious things (my drink of choice was 42 Below Passion vodka over ice, topped with equal quantities of clear apple juice and Schweppes classic dry lemonade). And we spent the last two hours of 2011 playing charades, which was absolutely hilarious. I flummoxed the party people with both ‘The Dukes of Hazzard’ and ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess’, although they did manage to figure out ‘Escape to the Country’ and ‘Rehab’.

Now, whenever I’ve written blog posts about new year’s resolutions I’ve invariably failed to stick to them, so this year I shall keep most of my good intentions private. However, I am giving up swearing again. I gave it up three years ago as a new year’s resolution, and I actually stuck to it very well… and then we moved back to New Zealand, where people are very relaxed about the casual use of bad language. Before long I was cursing like a drunken sailor on shore leave. Enough! I’ll be all ‘blast’ and ‘crikey’ once again.

My blog-related new year’s resolution is to revisit my daily photo pledge, last tackled in 2009. I did pretty well that year and rarely missed a day, even though I didn’t have the easy technology of an iPhone to help me. The 2009 project was great fun: it really made me appreciate the gorgeous architecture in London. New Zealand is light on gorgeous architecture, but it’s groaning with gorgeous scenery, so this year’s project will probably be less metropolitan and more pastoral (unless I start getting paid for some work soon and we can afford a mid-year trip to Europe, as we hope). Here’s a good example – the gorgeous Rangitikei countryside. This shot was taken on the way home, from the hill in between Rewa and Waituna West, facing north:

Lovely, eh? I could never get tired of that view.

Anyway, I hope that you all have/had a lovely New Year’s Eve and that 2012 holds nothing but good health, good fortune and happiness for everybody.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to 2012

  1. I agree about the swearing. I thought Australia was pretty relaxed about potty mouth but NZ (or maybe it’s just my family?) is shockingly bad! I got rather lax about it all and didn’t like the result. Back on the wagon. I had to laugh the other day when my son said “Oh bother!” cause it sounded so prissy. After 3 weeks in NZ I heard him say “Shit” instead. Will have to beat the farmboy out of him now we’re back in Sydneytown.

Leave a Reply

