When we went to the zoo yesterday I discovered that I might have a new favourite wild animal – the insanely cute and attention-seeking seals.

The seal enclosure at Auckland Zoo enables you to watch the seals from the shore, and then go underground see their underwater antics.  They reward you for your interest by swimming past over and over again, and swimming upside-down and straight at the glass before swooping away in a melodramatic manner just before they banged their little seal heads, and then doing the same trick over and over again, in case you didn’t have your camera ready the first time.  They were hilarious.  I wanted to go swimming with them.  And yes, I encouraged their shameless ‘me me me’ antics by taking lots of photos and watching them for about ten minutes.  Here are some shots.

Leave a Reply

